Texting and Car Accidents
b. I will not text while driving and will use only handsfree calling if I need to speak on the phone while I am driving.
c. I will not text or use my phone while I am driving. If I need to use my phone, I will pull over to a secure location
The Michigan Legislature passed the final bill in a texting ban package. The Legislature passed the main bills in the package in April. The ban will go into effect for Michigan drivers July 1, 2010.
So what does it mean? As of July 1, texting will be a primary offense, meaning police can pull over Michigan motorists for texting alone. A first offense would cost $100 and repeat offenses would cost $200. No points will be added to a violator’s driving record.
If you or a loved one are involved in a car accident or truck wreck, you should consult with an experienced car accident attorney. Allan W. Ben P.C. is a Michigan injury law firm which handles all types of cases involving serious injury or death, including car accidents, motorcycle accidents, and drunk driving accidents. We handle personal injury cases from Macomb County, Oakland County, Wayne County, Farmington Hills, West Bloomfield, Novi, Birmingham or anywere else in Michigan. If you want to discuss your possible case or have any questions contact our office at firstname.lastname@example.org or 248-540-0677.